Best CBD for Dogs

15 Best CBD Oils for Dogs (and Other Pets)

We recommend products based on unbiased research from our editorial team. We may receive compensation if you click on a link. Read More.

So you’ve heard about CBD for dogs, but how do you get started?

There’s a ton of CBD companies vying for your attention (and dollars), but don’t fret! We’ve compiled an extensive guide to the world of CBD for pets. Whether you want to geek out on the research behind using CBD for dogs or just want to find the top CBD brands for your canine companion, we’ve got what you’re looking for.

But for those of you who don’t have time to scroll, we’ll just tell you straight off that our top pick for the best CBD oil for pets is Nuleaf Naturals. They put a premium on quality, offering just one product type for dogs, cats, and the humans who love them—CBD oil formulations. They’ve had a lot of time to perfect their process, and you just can’t beat their prices.

The CBD for Pets We RAVE About

Best Overall
NuLeaf Naturals
NuLeaf Naturals
Check Price
Best Quality
RE: Botanicals
RE: Botanicals
Check Price
Best THC-Free
Joy Organics
Joy Organics
Check Price
Best Value
cbdMD
cbdMD
Check Price
Best User Experience
Charlotte’s Web
Charlotte’s Web
Check Price

How Did We Pick the Top 15 CBD Oils for Dogs?

CBD Dosage for Dogs

There are many best CBD oils out there, and just as many CBD companies that offer pet products. Some brands are dedicated entirely to pets, while others offer a pet CBD line along with other products. For this ranking, we looked at both types of companies.

So how did we rate the companies we reviewed? Our methodology considers 20 factors that fall into five categories. We extensively reviewed many companies, but only the top 15 made the cut.

 Here’s a quick breakdown of how we came up with the numbers:

Quality

This category includes everything that pertains to what is actually inside the bottle. We look at the hemp source — both where it was grown and whether it was grown organically. We rewarded companies that source American-grown hemp (since it’s better regulated) as well as companies that grow their own hemp.

Top marks went to companies that have bent over backward to source USDA-certified organic hemp. That is not an easy feat!

We also sampled the products to taste for bitterness. Some bitterness is inevitable with a full-spectrum product (unless it’s a distillate), but companies whose tinctures didn’t make us (and our pets) cringe got a bit of a boost in this category.

Transparency

This category is all about how open the company is when it comes to their processes, including sourcing, manufacturing, and testing.

A major portion of this category’s points are rewarded based on how a company approaches lab testing. We scrutinize lab testing procedures, rating companies on how hard we have to work to find lab reports (COAs) as well as how up-to-date and thorough those lab tests are.

Top marks go to companies with a complete set of lab reports for each product on their website. If they’re batch numbered (so we know testing is up-to-date), that’s even better!

Value

This category is pretty straightforward. Nobody wants to spend more than they have to on a product. So, for this category, we calculated the price of CBD per milligram and weighed it against its quality score.

For consistency, we used the price of the highest potency pet CBD tincture we could find on the website.

Website Experience

If you’ve spent much time perusing the websites of various CBD companies, you’ll know that they range from the hastily assembled, amateurish specimen to the extremely polished and professional.

We take the website experience into consideration because we know that it’s really annoying to find a great product but to have to navigate an infuriatingly slow website. Or to have to deal with an annoyingly glitchy checkout process. We could go on.

For this category, we check everything from website speed to quality of product descriptions and FAQs. We go through the checkout process (well, most of it) to check for glitches and consider how many options they offer for pet CBD oil.

Customer Service

Figuring out which product to purchase can be daunting, not to mention trying to figure out how to dose your pet or how to read a lab report. And what if there’s a problem with your order?

This is where customer service becomes really important. To evaluate how companies deal with customer inquiries, we went undercover.

We sent emails to each company, posing as a customer with questions about anything from testing to return policies. We then ranked them on the speed and quality of their replies and looked for red flags from previous customer reviews.

And just to make sure we included everything we look for as customers, we gave points for strong return policies and free shipping.

So without further ado, we present to you Our 15 Favorite CBD Oils for Dogs. We hope our research makes your CBD hunting easier!

Also be sure to check out our list of the Best CBD Gummies and Best CBD Topicals.

Best CBD for Dogs

1

Nuleaf Naturals

QUALITY: 92/100
TRANSPARENCY: 96/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 83.3/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 84/100
VALUE: 81/100

Coupon Code: RAVELEAF20

If you like a no-frills shopping experience without compromising on quality, Nuleaf Naturals might be your CBD company. Based in Colorado, the company has been creating hemp products for years, and their experience shows. Their high-grade, full-spectrum hemp oil comes from local, organic hemp-extracted with CO2 technology.

For pets, you get a single potency (a hefty 50 milligrams per milliliter), but you can choose from three bottle sizes depending on your pet’s needs. Their return policy is limited to unopened items, but customer service is responsive and helpful.

Pros

  • Local hemp
  • Free shipping
  • Good testing practices

Cons

  • One potency
  • Strict return policy
2

RE: Botanicals

QUALITY: 97/100
TRANSPARENCY: 96/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 89.3/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 88/100
VALUE: 82/100

RE: Botanicals is the brain-child of John Roulac, founder of the organic superfoods brand Nutiva. He also happens to be a long-time hemp advocate, so RE: Botanicals brings together two of Roulac’s passions: hemp and restorative agriculture.

Their products are all top-notch and their pet CBD oil is no exception. The company uses the same high-quality, American-grown, USDA-certified organic hemp and certified-organic MCT oil as in all their tincture products. The dosage is slightly lower (10 milligrams per milliliter), but the only real downside is that there aren’t more options to choose from!

Pros

  • USDA-certified organic
  • Robust testing
  • Solid return policy

Cons

  • Only one pet option
  • Newer company
3

Joy Organics

QUALITY: 92/100
TRANSPARENCY: 100/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 96.7/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 100/100
VALUE: 86/100

Joy Organics hasn’t been around for long in the CBD industry, but you wouldn’t know it by their company practices. Their robust line of products, transparent testing practices, and stellar customer service all add up to a company determined to be in it for the long haul.

Made with Colorado-grown, organic hemp, Joy’s pet products are all THC-free. Their hemp tincture comes in two potencies, so you can choose between a 250-milligram and a 500-milligram option depending on your pet’s needs. And for dogs who prefer their CBD to come in chewy, edible form, the company also offers hemp dog chews made with water-soluble CBD for better absorption.

Pros

  • Fantastic customer service
  • Solid return policy
  • Two potency options

Cons

  • Newer company
  • Pricey
4

cbdMD

QUALITY: 92/100
TRANSPARENCY: 86/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 90/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 96/100
VALUE: 93.5/100

Coupon Code: RAVE15

Based in Kentucky, cbdMD creates bargain-priced CBD products made with CO2-extracted, American-grown, organic hemp. And with free shipping and a 30-day, money-back guarantee, their customer service is pretty top-notch, too. The one area that caused us some concern is their testing practices, but according to customer service, they seem to be moving towards post-formulation testing for all products.

For pets, there is a wide array of options. Tinctures come in multiple potencies and flavors, including formulations for dogs, cats, and horses. They also offer CBD treats, peanut butter, topicals, and soft chews.

Pros

  • Great prices
  • Tons of options
  • Solid customer service

Cons

  • Unclear testing practices
  • Website slow at times
5

Charlotte’s Web

QUALITY: 95/100
TRANSPARENCY: 92/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 96.7/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 75/100
VALUE: 84/100

One of the most readily identifiable CBD brands out there, Charlotte’s Web built their reputation on their proprietary, high-CBD strain of hemp. The company takes their status as an industry leader seriously and has instituted best practices when it comes to quality and transparency.

Charlotte’s Web’s pet products are formulated specifically for dogs (though that doesn’t mean you can’t give them to cats). Their full-spectrum tincture comes in only one potency, but with two flavor options, chicken and unflavored. The new pump bottle makes dispensing easier, and they also sell chews formulated for calming, cognition, and joint pain, and there’s a pet hemp balm for targeted pain relief.

Pros

  • Trusted brand
  • Solid return policy
  • Moderate pricing

Cons

  • Only one potency
  • Slower customer service
6

Spruce CBD

QUALITY: 95/100
TRANSPARENCY: 95/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 85/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 100/100
VALUE: 100/100

Spruce scored 95 percent on the RAVE meter within our 2020 Best CBD Oils Buyers Guide. The company is consistently rated as having prompt and attentive customer service and an outstanding line of products.

 Their 750 mg Dog CBD Oil is formulated with MCT coconut oil, thought to be gentler on pup’s tummies. And its mild flavor should make it easy to add to food or treats without detection. All of Spruce’s top-quality CBD products are made from premium grade hemp that has been domestically sourced.

Pros

  • Excellent reviews
  • Ships to all 50 states
  • Subscribe and save program

Cons

  • Limited amount of products
  • Lack of educational info on website
7

Mission Farms

QUALITY: 92/100
TRANSPARENCY: 95/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 85.7/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 87/100
VALUE: 81/100

One of our favorite brands here at RAVE is Mission Farms, so we were pleased to find out about their newest offering—Pet CBD Oil. As pet owners themselves, the company knows just how important our animal companions are, and they have put the same effort and attention into their pet formulation as they do with all their terrific products.

Formulated to calm nerves and ease stiffness and discomfort, it comes in a one-ounce bottle that contains 600 mg of CBD. Lab-tested and organically-farmed; the lip-smacking beef jerky flavor will make your pet love you even more than they already do.

Pros

  • Sourced from Oregon
  • Trusted brand
  • Seed to shelf operation

Cons

  • Cats may not like beef flavor
  • Contains trace amounts of THC
8

4 Corners Cannabis

QUALITY: 92/100
TRANSPARENCY: 92/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 90/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 84/100
VALUE: 56/100

Coupon Code: RAVE20

A ranking of the best CBD just isn’t complete without a shout-out to 4 Corners Cannabis. These industry pioneers have been plying their trade since the very beginning of the CBD movement, and they’re passionate about their products.

With seed to sale control over everything they make, 4 Corners’ pet tincture is made with a true full-spectrum of cannabinoids and flavonoids for your pet’s best shot at the entourage effect. Their pet tincture contains no added limonene (a terpene some animals are sensitive to) and comes in three potencies.

Pros

  • Several potencies
  • Responsive customer service
  • Trusted company

Cons

  • Strong hemp flavor
  • Strict return policy
9

Populum

QUALITY: 92/100
TRANSPARENCY: 96/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 100/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 91/100
VALUE: 60/100

Populum’s high-end products have earned them a reputation as a leader in the CBD Industry. With a high level of transparency and third-party lab testing results always available, this is a company you can trust when it comes to your beloved pets.

The brand’s Zen Pets CBD Oil is formulated at a lower potency to meet the unique needs of breeds of different sizes, and it comes in two concentrations— 150 or 300 mg. Of CBD. It’s full-spectrum, containing all the beneficial cannabinoids and terpenes found in hemp, and it’s blended with hemp seed and coconut oil to aid in digestion.

Pros

  • Easy dosing
  • Excellent user interface
  • Reputable brand

Cons

  • Restrictive return policy
  • High cost per milligram
10

Moon Mother Hemp Company

QUALITY: 95/100
TRANSPARENCY: 94/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 91.3/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 80/100
VALUE: 87/100

Coupon Code: RAVE20

Moon Mother Hemp Company is an up-and-coming Colorado-based company that oversees its hemp products from seed to sale. Made with local, USDA-certified organic hemp, Moon Mother’s full-spectrum CBD products are, without exception, of the highest quality and rigorously tested.

For pets, Moon Mother Hemp Co. offers a full-spectrum CBD oil tincture in tow potencies— (250 and 500 milligrams of CBD per one-ounce bottle. You can also try out their Pet Care topical balm for skin issues and aching joints.

Pros

  • USDA-certified organic hemp
  • Batch numbered lab tests
  • Helpful customer service

Cons

  • Return policy is only 15 days
  • Pricey
11

Pure Hemp Botanicals

QUALITY: 94/100
TRANSPARENCY: 93/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 86/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 90/100
VALUE: 94/100

Colorado-based Pure Hemp Botanicals puts their passions for both CBD and the planet at the center of their company ethos. This begins with sustainable hemp-growing and sourcing practices (local and organic) to moderate pricing. Even their packaging is sustainable and cruelty-free.

For pets, Pure Hemp Botanicals crafted a line of full-spectrum CBD tinctures which come in a broad range of concentrations, from 300 milligrams up to 1500 milligrams CBD per 30-milliliter bottle. They test every batch of CBD oil for purity, potency, and safety — and if you have any questions, their customer service is ready to help.

Pros

  • Accessible pricing
  • Helpful customer service
  • Three potencies

Cons

  • Limited return policy
  • Difficult website navigation
12

Roxy Pets by Hemplucid

QUALITY: 95/100
TRANSPARENCY: 96/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 80/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 90/100
VALUE: 95/100

Built on the premise that “lucidity builds a community of trust,” Idaho-based CBD company, Hemplucid, puts transparency at the forefront of their business. With batch numbered lab reports and extensive product information, you know what you’re getting at Hemplucid.

Hemplucid’s Roxy Pets product line features whole plant (i.e. full-spectrum) CBD oil specially formulated for dogs (in the chicken flavor) or cats (in a fish flavor). You can also choose between two potencies, depending on your pets size and needs.

Pros

  • Great customer reviews
  • Complete lab reports
  • Free shipping

Cons

  • More expensive than most
13

Receptra Naturals

QUALITY: 89/100
TRANSPARENCY: 96/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 83.3/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 80/100
VALUE: 87/100

Coupon Code: RAVE10

Based in Colorado, Receptra sources local, organic, Colorado hemp for their line of high-quality CBD products. They extract CBD from the best parts of the hemp plant (the flower), eschewing the stalks and stems, resulting in high-grade, full-spectrum products.

For their pet tinctures, Receptra Naturals uses their premium CBD-hemp extract carried in MCT oil. Their pet formula provides the benefits of a full-spectrum hemp product and is also an excellent source of the essential fatty acids your pet needs to thrive.

In terms of potency, there are two options (500 and 750 milligrams), and three bottle sizes, so you’ll be able to customize your pet’s dose to their specific needs.

Pros

  • Solid return policy
  • Good testing practices
  • Responsive customer service

Cons

  • No free shipping
  • Website can be slow to load
14

Green Roads

QUALITY: 86/100
TRANSPARENCY: 96/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 80/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 76/100
VALUE: 73/100

Based in South Florida, Green Roads is a well-known brand in the CBD industry. They offer an enormous array of CBD products, all created with Green Roads five-step process to ensure quality and safety. This is the company that invented the term broad-spectrum CBD, and the majority of their products are based on this formulation.

With Green Roads Pet CBD Drops, you can be sure your furry friend is getting all of the beneficial properties of a full-spectrum product but with no detectable levels of THC. The drops come in various potencies based on the weight of your pet. They are formulated with an MCT oil base to help aid in digestion. If you want the CBD experience for your animal minus the THC, these drops are an ideal choice. 

Pros

  • Sourced from domestic hemp
  • Great variety of products
  • Lab sheets readily available

Cons

  • Strict return policy
  • Pricey
15

CBDistillery

QUALITY: 89/100
TRANSPARENCY: 92/100
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE: 76.7/100
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 56/100
VALUE: 92/100

If you’re looking for an inexpensive, full-spectrum pet tincture to help your dog or cat reap the potential benefits of all that CBD may offer, CBDistillery won’t disappoint. Crafted with cold-press hemp seed oil as a carrier for easy absorption, the tincture can be had in 150 mg or 600 mg of CBD.

Sourced from US-grown non-GMO industrial hemp, it’s made in an ISO-certified lab and is third-party lab tested with results readily available. Careful shoppers will appreciate the brand’s 60-day money-back guarantee, which ensures that if it’s not right for your pet, you can swap it for something else or get a refund.

Pros

  • US Hemp Authority Certified
  • Excellent variety of products
  • Member of the US Hemp Roundtable

Cons

  • Guarantee only for one of each first product purchase
  • Pricey

Our CBD Library

Dr. Kasey Nichols, N.M.D.

Dr. Kasey Nichols, N.M.D. focuses on sleep disorders and drug-free pain management utilizing both conventional and alternative medicine at his private practice, Onyx Integrative Medicine and Aesthetics, located in Gilbert, AZ. He served as the Director of Medical Operation and Administration at a national substance abuse disorder corporation with 16 facilities across seven states. He graduated from Cleveland University-Kansas City with a Bachelor’s of Science in Human Biology, graduating with honors, and holds a Doctorate from The Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine. He holds licenses in both Arizona and Kansas. Dr. Nichols has given numerous talks to professional organizations, given interviews for newspapers across the United States, and numerous television news interviews with ABC 15/CW 61 in Arizona, Channel 3 in Arizona, and others. Dr. Nichols has appeared in Cosmopolitan, Reader’s Digest, WebMD, Healthline, and many other health and lifestyle publications.